Public Key (xxviii)

My room was about eighteen feet long and six feet wide. One wall sloped into an acute triangle. I could only stand up if I stood with my back to the straight wall. I’d never been claustrophobic in my life until then.

There was a round porthole at the end of the room. There was a mattress on the floor, and a flashlight with a wire grating around the bulb like a catcher’s mit. Down the hall was a bathroom. I was made to understand that I could use it, but as it was also used by real sailors I better be good and embarrassed every time I did.

I felt sure they’d wake me when they wanted their toilets scrubbed. Or when they wanted to cut my throat and steal my guitar.

I plugged in my laptop and put on the Brandenburg concertos. They were good to sleep by or to be the last sound you ever hear. I ate a handful of almonds, drank a bottle of water, and went to sleep.


~ by davekov on 14 February 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
