…Without Really Trying

I was puttering around Deep Hard Drive today, making notes about the stories I’ve written. I wanted to see how much work it would take to turn my various novellae into novel.

For each story I made a list of what would be required to turn them into Full Length Feature Flimsies. Pretty quickly I began to detect a pattern:

 

-more descriptions

-introduce a subplot; include more little incidents as the story goes through

-add a girl?

 

…which leads me to a pretty good all-around definition of a novel: it’s a premise, a character, descriptions, diversions, and a girl.

That’s my kind of novel.

~ by davekov on 15 February 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
