Public Key (xLi)

I awoke into Africa.

That was my first thought. I don’t know why. I’d been in Africa for days. Arguably for weeks.

I guess I hadn’t had time to take a breath and notice.

I took a deep breath, and realized I hadn’t felt this good in a damn long time.

Then my feet starting hurting. And my arms ached and my eyes twisted and my fingers shrieked where they’d held the handle on my guitar. I snuggled up under the covers, and wondered if the painflowers in bloom all over my body would keep me from wilting back to sleep.

Then I jolted awake and sat up and nearly fell off the bed.

Okay. Okay. Where am I.

Is there anyone around me?

Am I safe?

I ran to the window. I looked out. I didn’t see anyone. I didn’t really see anything. No people. No movement. Not much of anything at all.

I ran to the other window – apparently I had two windows – and saw nothing but the same.

I looked around the room. I don’t know what I was looking for, Viet Cong under the bed or something. I had to force myself to sit down, clutching at the bed all the while, and not throw open the front door and get back to the road, to the run.

I realized I was in kind of sorry shape. I realized I’d been saving up a lot of a lot, just waiting for a time when I could safely let it out.

I realized that this was such a time. That I was safe. That I was there, that there was here. That I had made it. That, for better or worse, in sickness and health, I was home.

I slumped over onto my bed and just breathed, in and out, up and down in my chest, side to side in my mind.

The air tasted really good.

 

 

~ by davekov on 19 February 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
