Clavicula Publica

I’ve been writing Public Key for a hair under two months. During which time I’ve also done a big round of loljobbing, done a complete redrafting of BBV, and… okay, that’s about it.

So far I have just shy of 45,000 words on paper. Most of these have been edited through at least once. I have the remainder of the novel planned out pretty closely. It should come together at around 75,000 words – with a Circular Error Probable in the 10k range.

Thus it shall be novel number… six, I think. FCV ‘novel’, o’course. More specifically, it will be the fourth novel I’ve written that I shall consider shopping to agents.

Once I finish the first draft, I’m going to turn my attentions back to BBV. I am going to redraft it once more, and then begin the query process. Wish us luck, great justice, etc.

Then, all things being equal, I’ll start a new project. When I finish a draft of that I’ll come back to Public Key. Rinse, rinse, and motherfucking repeat.

I seem to have gotten myself into a nice little pattern here. I might stick with it for a few turns of the gyre. If it proves sustainable – that is, publishable – I see no reason why I should think to deviate from it. If it doesn’t…

…then I’ll just have to try something new.

-Clinton, CT

~ by davekov on 28 February 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
