Public Key (Lxxxix)

It didn’t take long to tell her. There wasn’t much to tell. It had all happened so long ago. I’d almost believed it had gone.

She said nothing. She wouldn’t meet my eyes. But she didn’t let go of me.

Then she looked up at me. Okay, she said.

Just like that.

Suddenly I was overwhelmed with shame.

I’m sorry, I said.

It’s okay, she said. You say you didn’t do anything wrong, and-

I’m sorry! I said, my voice trembling.

No. Don’t be. You saved me from being raped. You kept me from-

I’m sorry, I said, I’m sorry, I’m sorry, I’m sorry, I’m-

She kissed me.

My world melted into us. The rest of the world faded into the dimness, far away.

Our lips parted. We stared into each other’s eyes, our mouths open, our breathing coming hot and slow.

You think he was a bounty hunter? she asked.

I’m sure of it.

He was tracking us.

Yes.

And when he thought I was alone-

He’s dead, I said. Fuck him.

She didn’t disagree.

That’s over, I said, a great resolve coming over me. Now. Now. It stops now.

How?

We go back, I said. And I figure out some way to clear my name.

Okay.

Jesus fucking Christ, I said, I should have done this months ago. I should have started the fucking moment-

She shushed me, calmingly, putting her finger to my lips. It doesn’t matter, she said. What matters is what we do.

We clear my name.

And if we can’t? she asked.

I closed my eyes, and swallowed hard.

I turn myself in.

She waited for me to continue.

It’s not worth it, I said. Hiding, running, I can do that. I did. For a long time. But not this. Nothing is worth this.

She didn’t say a word.

I opened my eyes. She was still there, and looking at me expectantly.

I want you to stay with me, I said. But it’s dangerous. You’ve seen how dangerous it can be. The whole world’s looking for me. There’s a fucking bounty on my head. I have no idea what-

It doesn’t matter.

You might get in arrested. You might get hurt. I don’t know what will happen, I don’t know-

I’m staying with you, she said.

I reached up and gripped her shoulders. Hannah, I can’t ask you to. I don’t know-

I’m staying with you, she said.

And that was that.

 

~ by davekov on 14 March 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
