Shelf Dreams

I made a few bookshelves. I made them with a screwdriver, then added aestheticadiddles with an electric reciprocating saw.

They are:

SHELF ONE

SHELF TWO

Each shelf required:

18 brackets, 36 nails (come in sets of 4×8)………………….. $8

6 boards of white pine (1/2x4x36)……………………………….. $18

1 reciprocating handsaw (purely for detailing)………………. $23
1 screwdriver (I bought a torque bar)…………………………… $2
1 needle-file (for smoothing edges)…………………………….. $4
So the first bookshelf cost $55
The second (and all future shall) cost $26
…also about 5 hours labor for each. Which would have been reduced by a factor of 5 if I had an automatic screw-driving device :)
~ by davekov on 16 April 2011.

6 Responses to “Shelf Dreams”

  1. So I’m moving into a bigger place in August. Plan: I commission a bunch of furniture, you build it, I pay you.

  2. 1) I will try to get good enough to justify your enthusiasm
    2) I will try to get rich enough to give you a housewarming gift
    3) NEW PLACE HOLY FUCK YES

  3. Learn to upholster.#NealStephensonParaphrase

  4. Jack White is an ex-upholsterer. I feel like you learning to upholster would be of benefit to your blues-playing and my bony ass. #symbiosis

  5. Today I realized that my work so far had been entirely monodimensional. I took a three-dimensional board, made Aesthetics out of one dimension, but didn’t touch the other two. Next project will be to try to take advantage of all three dimensions. With what limited tools I have.

    Your apartment will be entirely n-dimensional. Klein rocking chairs, Buckyshelves, made of Dymaxiwin.

  6. Note to self:

    When Maine spring relapses into Maine winter, stain gets so cold it doesn’t set so much as congeal. #foodforthought.

Leave a Reply

 
