The Movable Beast

Every time I move into a new lebensraum, I fret over what books of mine shall accompany me. And I worry about this… because it is fun to do so.

This time, for the first time, I shall not have easy access to a sizable (inter)collegiate library. Likewise I shall be moving, for the first time, into an apartment that is Mine Alone: I am paying for it, I am living in it, it is mine in full measure. So I have, on the one hand, a desire to nest; and on the other, and need to have some reading material available.

This is complicated by, one, the fact that I do not have much space in this apartment; two, that I will no doubt be acquiring new books whence I am there; three, I have the internet; and four, I know how to use it. I have already some thousand eTexts on my computer (many duplicating books I own en corpore. And I do, as ever, have a local library of which I shall be making excellent use.

What books, then, do I bring with me?

The easiest are the functional volumes – cookbooks, reference books, things to which I will actively refer.

Next are the Pretty Books – art, comics, or my red leather Red Book Of Westmarch

Then there are the Guilty Books – those that I will be reading when I am sad-faced, or else (and more often) too sick for anything but an old friend

Then there are a few books that I will hope that my friends shall read. Yes, very much.

After that… well, there is nothing after that.

So apologies, World, if a cursory glance at my library makes me look like an idiot-savant six-year-old or a schizophrenic ninety-year-old. But… well, somewhere between there probably lies the truth :)

After some consideration, these, I think, are the books that I shall be bringing with me to Cambridge. They number about 70 all told.

COOKBOOKS

Massimo Capra – ONE POT ITALIAN

Cooks Shop Here, Noho – TEA: AROMAS AND FLAVORS FROM AROUND THE WORLD

James Oseland – CRADLE OF FLAVOR: HOME COOKING FROM THE SPICE ISLANDS (malay)

Fuschia Dunlop – THE REVOLUTIONARY CHINESE COOKBOOK (hunanese)

Rabbi Gil Marks – OLIVE TREES AND HONEY (jewish diaspora cooking)

Michael Field – CULINARY CLASSICS AND IMPROVISATIONS (aka ‘The Leftover Cookbook’)

The French Culinary Institute – THE FUNDAMENTAL TECHNIQUES OF CLASSIC CUISINE (French)

ART & COFFEE-TABLE

Aubrey Beardsley – Complete Illustrations

Carmichael & Ratzan – MEDICINE: A TREASURE OF ART AND LITERATURE

Bill Mauldin – Complete Comics

Simon Houpt – MUSEUM OF THE MISSING

Freedman – FOOD: THE HISTORY OF TASTE

Hugh Johnson – VINTAGE: THE STORY OF WINE

Roman Vishniac – Die Farshvundene Velt: Idishe shtet, Idishe mentshn (THE VANISHED WORLD)

Berke Breathed – LOOSE TAILS (bloom county)

GENRE & JUVENALIA

Graeme Base – THE DISCOVERY OF DRAGONS

Oscar Wilde – THE HAPPY PRINCE

Richard Adams – WATERSHIP DOWN

Roger Zelazny – NINE PRINCES IN AMBER

Tolkien – THE HOBBIT

Tolkien – THE LORD OF THE RINGS

Kelly Link – MAGIC FOR BEGINNERS

Dan Simmons – HYPERION

HP LOVECRAFT – Assorted (CHARLES DEXTER WARD)

Tim Powers – THE ANUBIS GATES

Heinlein – JOB

Heinlein – STARSHIP TROOPERS

Pohl – GATEWAY (already in Cambridge)

POESIE

Goethe – FAUST (illustrated by Delacroix)

Milton – PARADISE LOST (illstrated by Dore)

Carter (ed.) – TRADITIONAL JAPANESE POETRY (anthology)

Vachel Lindsay – THE CONGO AND OTHER POEMS

Hilaire Belloc – THE MODERN TRAVELLER

Ferlinghetti – A CONEY ISLAND OF THE MIND

Michael Alexander (trans.) – THE EARLIEST ENGLISH POEMS (anthology)

John Keats – collected poetry

A. E. Houseman – A SHROPSHIRE LAD

PHILOSOPHY &c

Neal Stephenson – IN THE BEGINNING… WAS THE COMMAND LINE

Ambrose Bierce – THE DEVIL’S DICTIONARY

Sun Tzu – THE ART OF WAR

Machiavelli – THE PRINCE

Machiavelli – THE ART OF WAR

GREAT ESSAYS (anthology)

Hobbes – The LEVIATHAN

Burton – THE ANATOMY OF MELANCHOLY

FICTION

McCullough (ed) – CLASSICAL JAPANESE PROSE (anthology)

Joris-Karl Huysmans – A REBOURS

Joseph Conrad – HEART OF DARKNESS & THE CONGO DIARY

Julian Rubinstein – THE BALLAD OF THE WHISKEY ROBBER

Borges – COLLECTED FICTIONS

Arturo Perez-Reverte – EL CLUB DUMAS

Noah Gordon – THE PHYSICIAN

Neal Stephenson – CRYPTO

Washington Irvin – THE SKETCH-BOOK

Lermontov (Paul Foote trans.) – A HERO FOR OUR TIME

Neal Stephenson – ZODIAC

David Machell – GHOSTWRITTEN

Gil Sorrentino – MULLIGAN STEW

Jill Paton Walsh – FAREWELL, GREAT KING

John Collier – FANCIES AND GOODNIGHTS (complete prose)

REFERENCE & NONFICTION

Inkeles & Todris – THE ART OF SENSUAL MASSAGE

Bob Meagher – HERAKLES GONE MAD

Phil Baker – THE BOOK OF ABSINTHE

Kermit Lynch – ADVENTURES ON THE WINE ROUTE

S. L. MacGregor Mathers & Aleister Crowley – CLAVICULA SOLOMONIS REGIS

THE WORLD’S GREAT SPEECHES, 4th EDITION (collection)

Tolkien – THE MONSTERS AND THE CRITICS

Glenn Kurtz – PRACTICING

Vladimir Petrov – ESCAPE FROM THE FUTURE

Mitchell (ed) – THE YELLOW BOOK (anthology)

Godwin – LIVES OF THE NECROMANCERS

THE CATHOLIC CHURCH AND THE NATION-STATE (various)

Naya Gabriel – MINDFUL BEAUTY IS IN YOUR HANDS

Kurt W. Treptow – LIFE AND TIMES OF DRACULA

Molly McLeod – THE AMPERSAND BOOK

dot dot dot

DIRGEY THUNDERCURRENT

BBV

PUBLIC KEY

THE MINOR PROSE (2010)

…for great justice

~ by davekov on 27 May 2011.

One Response to “The Movable Beast”

  1. Also probably my First Folio… in a pinch it can double as a dining-room table, or a wall!

Leave a Reply

 
