Reading List ’12

My work for The Boston Circus Guild is taking up so much of my time. I am also finishing up contracts with three clients, and doing consulting for 1d6 others. This on top of the 17 hours I work per week at my house, which entitles me to minimum wage… and a top-floor room in a 6000sqt mansion 2 blocks off of Harvard Yard.

So yes, yes, I have not been putting much pen to paper. It was inevitable. Just as it is inevitable that I shall return to it when I have settled down. (Me declare my fictions to be naught but a youthful folly? Indeed you jest, motherfucker!)

Until then, I have at least found some time for some good and honest reading. This improved a great deal by my possession of a Kindle (if hampered by my poverty, freetardism, and the sad end of Gigapedia). It will only improve the more in a week when I am all moved into my new apartment. Which is located a convenient ten minutes from both the Harvard Widener and the Cambridge Public, both of which – I must confess – make the Kennebunk Free Library look like a bookseller’s stall on the corner of Tremont and West.

As such it falls to me, at least, to make sure I am reading good books. This is rather my constant challenge in life. Since I am reading on the order of three or four a month – most all works of scholarly nonfiction – I had best make some plans. Lest I find myself on a steady diet of Mossflower until the sheer varmint saccharine rots my teeth.

Here are a list of the books I have on my current to-read list. Starred books I have on my Kindle. And I threw them into rough categories for easy navigation – that is to say, mine.

STRATEGY AND MIL

Liddel-Heart, B H. Strategy: The Indirect Approach

Smith, Walter Bedell. Utility of Force

Alexander, Bevin. How Great Generals Win

Scott, James. Thinking Like A State

Jablonsky, David. Churchill and Hitler

Ward, S. P. G. Wellington’s Headquarters

AUTO & BIO

Lawrence, T. E. 7 Pillars of Wisdom

Boswell. Life of Johnson

Gerwarth, Robert. Hitler’s Hangman: The Life of Heydrich

*Sherman, William Tecumseh. Memoirs

HISTORY

Pelinka, Anton. Democracy Indian style

*Robbins, Nick. The Corporation that Changed the World

Castro, Daniel. Revolution and revolutionaries

Eckman, Lester Samuel. The Jewish Resistance

Pearl, Johnathan. The crime of crimes

David Crouch, William Marshal. Knighthood, War and Chivalry, 1147–1219

*Josephson, Matthew. The Robber-Barons

*Leeming, David. Jealous Gods & Chosen People

*Richard Miles Carthage Must Be Destroyed

*Schnedewind, William. How the Bible Became a Boo

*Woloch. Napoleon and his Collaborators

The Cello Suites

*Weiner, Tim. Legacy of Ashes

*Hopkirk, Peter. The Great Game

ECON

*Paulson, Ed. Inside Cisco

*Posner. Catastrophe: Risk and Response

Rothbard, Murray. Wall Street, Banks and American Foreign Policy

Rothbard, Murray. A History of Money and Banking in America

Rothbard, Murray. America’s Great Depression

Wasserstein, Bruce. Big Deal: Mergers and Acquisitions in the Digital Age

Wolfson. Financial Crises

Shiller, Robert. Irrational Exuberance

Blom. To Have and to Hold: An Intimate History of Collectors and Collecting

Senor, Daniel. Start-up Nation: The Story of Israel’s Economic Miracle

Gilbert, Daniel. Stumbling on Happiness

Markides, Constantinos. Game-Changing Strategies

Ferguson, Niall. The Ascent of Money

Wheelan, Charles. Naked Economics

scholars of the Rotman School. The Finance Crisis and Rescue

Schroeder, Alice. The Snowball: Warren Buffet and the Business of Life

An Austrian Perspective on the History of Economic Thought

*(various tomes in the Harvard Business Essentials collection)

PLAY & POESIE

Pushkin – Eugene Onegin

Frayn – Democracy

SCIENCE!

Interferon: The Science and Selling of a Miracle Drug

Sperm Wars

Latour, Bruno. Laboratory life

Sagan, Carl. The Demon-Hunted World

Modulations: A History of Electronic Music

FICTION & NARRATIVE

Tahmima Anam A Golden Age

Vittoria Crichton The Secret of Santa 

Soseki Botchan

Barry Hushart Bridge of Birds

**Robert Ackman Cold Hand in Mine

Mira Grant Feed

White Chappell, Scarlet Tracings

Death of a Bookseller

the golden mean

Young Goodman Browne

David Mitchless Cloud Atlas

The Thousand Autumns of Jacob de Zuut

Adler – The Journey

Hans Keyelson – Comedy in a Minor Key

Death of the Adversary

short stories by Lydia Davis

Douglas – terrible honesty

Primo Levi – If Not Now, When?

sam delaney – the einstein intersection

Arthur Conan Doyle – The White Company

*Guy Gavriel Kay – Tigana

*James Joyce – Dubliners

Arthuer Koestler – Thieves in the Night

walter merle malevil

*Herman Melville The Piazza Tales

Daniel

lazarillo

plainsong

plenty of Graham Greene
likewise Joseph Conrad

ESSAY

Hackers & Painters

*Rabinowit & Kaplan. A Passion for Books

—–SPECIAL TOPICS—–

VLASOV

Andreyev. Vlasov and the Russian Liberation Movement

Fischer. Soviet Opposition to Stalin

The Russians in Germany: A History of the Soviet Zone of Occupation, 1945–1949,

Stalin’s Secret War

ART THEFT

Stealing Rembrandts: The Untold Stories of Notorious Art Heists

The Rescue Artist: A True Story of Art, Thieves, and the Hunt for a Missing Masterpiece

Edsel & Witter. The Monuments Men

—–AND HERE ARE SOME SUBJECTS ON WHICH I’D LIKE GOOD BOOKS—–

A good study of Hobbes

study of the dot-com bubble

The Fuggers

The Medici

~ by davekov on 4 March 2012.

Leave a Reply

 
