Two-Tired Dreams

It seems that, from 1 July to 1 September, I shall have zero demands upon my time.

Having plenty of money in my purse, it’s really just a matter of seeing what interests me on land.

I think I should like to get exercise. I think I should like to spend some time with my thoughts. I think I should like to see some more of the world. To accomplish something – see if I can do it.

I think I should like to do some bicycling.

Here are a few itineraries I could follow:

===THE VALLEY-HO===

CAMBRIDGE to WORCESTER (47 miles). Crash with my cousin Michael.

WORCESTER to AMHERST (51mi). Crash with one of my Legion cronies.

AMHERST to PITTSFIELD (49mi). Beg crash space from Bera?

PITTSFIELD to ALBANY (38mi). Crash with Beyonce!

185 miles… each way

…averaging ~50miles/day

===THE HUDSON RIVER SCHOOLING===

…starting from Albany:

ALBANY to POUGHKEEPSIE (74mi) – hotel

POUGHKEEPSIE to MANHATTAN (72 mi if I bike to a subway stop, 80 if I bike into the City) – crash with one of my untold legion of fans and admirers

MANHATTAN to FORT SALONGA (40mi) – crash with the Barkans!

FORT SALONGA to MONTAUK (84mi) – crash with Cousin Jeremy

MONTAUK to ORIENT POINT (40mi) including two ferries – and then the ferry to NEW LONDON (hotel)

NEW LONDON to PROVIDENCE (59mi) – hotel?

PROVIDENCE to BOSTON (48mi) – crash with one of my Legion minions, myrmidons, &c

415 miles (600 if starting from Boston)

…averaging 60 miles/day 

===THE COAST-OF-MAINE===

KENNEBUNK to BRUNSWICK (55mi)

BRUNSWICK to CAMDEN HILLS STATE PARK (58mi)

CAMDEN to MT DESERT ISLAND (66mi)

MT DESERT to MACHIASPORT (70mi)

MACHIAS to CAMPOBELLO ISLAND PROVINCIAL PARK (LOL CANADA) (25mi)

…there and back? 9 days, if I ride straight through.

275 miles… each way

…averaging 55 miles/day

===THE COAST-OF-CANADA===

…starting from Campobello

SHORT FERRY RIDE then BIKE TO ST JOHN (~50mi)

SLIGHTLY LONG-ASS FERRY RIDE and then I’M ON NOVA SCOTIA

WHICH APPARENTLY IS LIKE HUNDREDS OF MILES OF COASTAL BIKE TRAILS +
CAMPING EVERYWHERE. & PEI. WHICH IS ONE GIANT MAZE OF BIKELANES.

AWW YISS

~ by davekov on 27 April 2013.

Leave a Reply

 
